Blackburn United 1 Musselburgh Athletic 6

East of Scotland Premier League  –  Saturday 11th March 2023

Blackburn United                    1          Devine 85

Musselburgh Athletic              6          Khan 9, 50, 67,Stevenson 17, Weekes 86, O’Connor 90

The visitors dominated right from the off and after forcing several corners they took the lead on nine minutes when Zacharry Khan held off McClung running into the box and stabbed the ball underneath the diving Saunders. Blackburn responded and a minute later Scott Richards had a try from just outside the box but it drifted over.

The Musselburgh lead was doubled on 17 minutes when a Craig Stevenson free-kick from twenty yards found its way past both the wall and Saunders. Just past the half-hour and Jerry Otonti tried his luck from distance as Blackburn struggled for a football in the game but Laing gathered comfortably.

Richie Hutton then got onto the end of a Laurie Devine cut back inside the Musselburgh area but it trundled past. The visitors had a couple more chances just before the break to add a third with Evans blazing a shot well over and then Hunter heading over.

The third did come five minutes after the restart when Khan doubled his tally when he cut across the 18 yard box and stroked it into the corner of the net. A few minutes later Scott Richards almost cut the deficit when his header came back off the bar.

Khan completed his hattrick and put the game beyond Blackburn on 67 minutes after a quick Musselburgh break.

With five minutes remaining O’Conner handled in the box and Laurie Devine dispatched the penalty to get the Burnie on the scoresheet, however there was still time for the visitors to inflict further pain with goals through Weekes and O’Connor

Blackburn United: Craig Saunders, James Mildren, Kyle McClung (David Wilson 59), Adam Forrest, Marcus Millar, Chris Kelly (David Howe 80), Jerry Otonti (Calum Heath 59), Daryl Meikle, Laurie Devine, Scott Richards (Craig Baillie 80), Richard Hutton.  Unused subs: John Binnie, Luke Meikle, Jakub Welna.

Musselburgh Athletic: Daniel Laing, Craig Stevenson, Nathan Evans (Matthew Knox 62), Liall Smith, Robert Wilson (Jordan Smith 70), David Greenhill (Jackie Myles 70), Lloyd Fiddler (Ben Weekes 72), Zacharry Khan (Taylor Black 70), Jackson Barker, George Hunter, Matthew O’Connor.  Unused subs: Declan O’Kane, Alasdair Adams.

Referee: Chris Neman             Assistants: Sean Redgrave, Richard Kay.